D



OTA Requirements

An update is to be carried out either if an error or an attack threat has been identified in the host operating system, if a new version is to be installed, or if the applications that are active on the device require updates. Whether an update needs to be performed, the end device can learn by request to the update server, by a message from the server (for example, in the case of a critical update), by user action or by some other action.

A proper update system is able to provide this functionality and thus help to save a lot of money.

Flexibility

An update system should be able to exchange any component of an embedded system. This includes the boot loader, kernel, rootfs, binary files for flash components, software for additional CPUs, both in heterogeneous systems and in a cascading structure (gateway), and the application(s) themselves. Also should it take only those components from an update container that are needed for its own hardware. The system should be adaptable (with minimal adjustments) to different CPU architectures, storage media, storage layouts (UBIFS, eMMC, HDDs, ...) and so on.

Whether the application is part of the OS image or an autonomous partition and thus updateable independently, should be the user's decision and not determined by the update system. We have provided a separate partition for that purpose in our standard layout (see Figure 1).

It should also be able to use a wide variety of media for data transfer - be it a USB stick, an SD card or the internet in the form of a cable, WiFi or LTE / 5G. And it should handle the case where the embedded device is not constantly accessible and hence there might be identical devices with different software versions.

An update has to work without operator intervention, even in the case of an incomplete or faulty transfer of an update file (container) or insufficient memory. If an update cannot be started, a roll-back to a prior, functional image must be carried out automatically.

To meet all these requirements, an update must be atomic, which means do it all or nothing.

Carrying out an update may not affect the system, e.g. stop an application or delay its execution. Two approaches have emerged to achieve this: A/B update (symmetrical update) or Android update, also called asymmetrical update, with a "normal" and an update instance of the system.

Update Approaches

A/B update - here the update is written to the inactive partition and then the boot loader is changed to point to this partition. This newly written partition is started during the next boot process - so it is obvious that this approach requires a reboot for the update to take effect. A potential disadvantage is the large amount of memory required, since two complete images must be available at all times. The major advantage is that an executable image is always available.

 

Fig 3: Default memory layout at symmetric update

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Asymmetrical update with one productive and one small update partition - here the memory requirement is less, but the downtime is significantly longer, as the productive system is inactive during the actual update process.

 

Fig 4: Standardlayout asymmetrisches Up-date

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Delta Update

Regardless of whether symmetrical or asymmetrical, it should be possible to limit the amount of data to be transmitted. Especially if the connection is to take place via bandwidth-limited channels. Delta updates (differential) limit the size of the data to be transmitted. And also the storage space on the device required for the update.

 

 

 

 

 

Picture 5a: Delta Update                                                      Picture 3b: Delta Update principle

Bandwith optimised

Deduplication reduces the amount of data even further. And the packaging into equally sized chunks optimises the utilisation of the networks of the CDNs (content delivery providers).

Result: Minimum data transfer, minimum time requirement, minimum costs.

 

Roll-Back

In both scenarios, the success of the update is checked by a watchdog. If the system does not start after an update, it is switched to the latest executable version after an adjustable number of attempts during the A/B update. In the case of an asymmetrical update, the update system can be restarted, if necessary with a corresponding message to the user.

On-device check

Before an update file is completely loaded, it should be possible to check whether it matches the hardware and whether it contains a new, updated version of the software. The complete download of an update container only takes place after a positive check. This saves unnecessary data transfer and eliminates the danger of downgrading by transmitting an outdated update.

For authentication, the first two components of the update file are loaded and evaluated. There you will find information about the supported hardware and the software version(s) of the content. Furthermore, there is a signed file with the hashes of all update images that the update container carries along - see also Figure 4.

Pre- and Postprocessing

Before or after the actual update, it should be possible to perform certain user-definable operations. For example, in the case of an A/B update, the boot loader must receive information after the actual update as to which partition is to be booted next.

Feedback

After an update, a response should be possible so that the update server can verify whether the update was successfully installed and then synchronise the information about the device. It should also be possible to query the current status of the device and also other information, if needed.

Security

To increase security against manipulation, it is recommended that the update container is signed and that the content can as well be encrypted. The signature is the guarantee that the content has not been manipulated on its way to the device (man-in-the-middle attacks). At the same time, it serves as authentication, i.e. proof that the update originates from an authorised body. Our CMS signing supports more than one root-of-trust (RoT) for verification. This allows configurations with more than one update signing instance, e.g. the OEM supplier can deliver an update and also another supplier who delivered an application. Both updates are recognised as validly signed and applied.

Encryption prevents reading and increases the level of security, as only the person in possession of the correct key can make use of the content. For performance reasons, a symmetrical method should be chosen for encryption.

Such an approach provides data security even if the update is to be installed locally via a USB stick, for example.

Encrypting only the transport route using TLS is not sufficient. In this case, an update could be read in plain text after delivery.
If available, HSM or TPM modules or suitable structures of the SoCs such as Trusted Zone (including the use of Trusted Execution Environment) should be applied for the secure storage of certificates or keys. Using pkcs#11 simplifies the handling from within the update programme.

GUI

Should the device receiving an update have a graphical user interface (GUI), it would be beneficial if the update procedure could use this GUI for, for example, selecting the update, obtaining permission to perform the update, displaying the process and checking the success.

The following drawing illustrates the process of an update on the device:

 

 

Boot up time

An update system should not affect the boot up time of the device.

Secure / Measured Boot

The update system ought to be functionally applicable even in these cases.

Multi-CPU Update and Gateway Functionality

Most current devices consist of more than one multi- or single-core CPU. Modern SoCs, so-called heterogeneous multi-core SoCs, also have more than one CPU. The update system must be able to extract the images from the update file and write them to the correct memory locations.

A similar, but not identical case is a device consisting of several (different) components which should receive updates but do not have access to the server. In this case, the device with access to the update server is serving as a gateway. It then distributes the corresponding images to the subordinate units. However, this will only work if all units use the same update software.

Fleet Management

EAn update system should be easy to integrate with a management system for automatically rolling out updates. The flexibility of our solution allows the connection to different device management systems.

Tooling

It should be possible to create the update file independently of the build system. In a further step, it should be possible to sign and, if necessary, encrypt the update file.
The update software for the end device should be integrable in Debian as well as in Yocto.

Expandability

Future requirements for an update system should be easy to integrate. Complex security requirements, such as those fulfilled by Uptane, should be feasible.

Wiederverkauf

An update system should not impede the neutralisation of the unit or the resetting to the delivery state for the purpose of resale.

>> zum Seitenanfang

E



OTA Anforderungen

Ein Update ist notwendig, wenn entweder im zugrunde liegenden Betriebssystem ein Fehler oder eine Angriffsmöglichkeit gefunden wurde, wenn eine neue Version eingespielt werden muss oder die Applikationen, die auf dem Gerät aktiv sind, Updates benötigen. Ob ein Update durchzuführen ist, kann das Endgerät durch eine Anfrage beim Updateserver erfahren, durch eine Nachricht vom Server (beispielsweise bei einem kritischen Update), durch eine Benutzeraktion oder durch irgendeine andere Aktion.

Ein gutes Updatesystem kann diese Funktionalität zur Verfügung stellen und damit dazu beitragen, viel Geld zu sparen.

Flexibilität

Ein Updatesystem sollte alle Komponenten eines Embedded Systems austauschen können. Dazu zählen der Bootloader, Kernel, rootfs, binäre Dateien für Flashkomponenten, Software für weitere CPUs, sowohl bei heterogenen Systemen als auch bei einer kaskadieren-den Struktur (Gateway), und die Anwendung(en) selber. Und es sollte aus einem Update-Container nur die Komponenten entnehmen, die für die eigene Hardware benötigt wer-den. Das System sollte (mit minimalen Anpassungen) an unterschiedliche CPU-Architekturen, Speichermedien, Speicherlayouts (UBIFS, eMMC, HDDs, ...) usw. anpassbar sein.

Ob die Applikation Teil des OS Image ist oder eine eigenständige Partition und damit un-abhängig updatebar ist, sollte die Entscheidung des Nutzers sein und nicht vom Update-system festgelegt werden. Wir haben in unserem Standardlayout (siehe Bild 1) eine eigene Partition hierfür vorgesehen.

Es sollte ferner unterschiedlichste Medien für die Datenübertragung nutzen können – sei es ein USB-Stick, eine SDcard oder das Internet in Form eines Kabels, WiFi oder LTE / 5G. Und es sollte den Fall unterstützen, dass das Embedded Gerät nicht ständig erreichbar ist und es daher identische Geräte mit unterschiedlichen Software Ständen geben kann.

Ein Update muss ohne einen Eingriff eines Bedieners auskommen, auch im Falle, dass ein Update File (Container) nicht vollständig oder fehlerhaft übertragen wurde oder der Spei-cher nicht ausreichend ist. Kann das Update nicht gestartet werden, muss ein Zurückge-hen auf ein bekanntes, funktionales Image (roll-back) automatisch durchgeführt werden.

Um all diese Anforderungen erfüllen zu können muss ein Update atomar sein, d.h. entweder ganz oder gar nicht.

Ein Update darf das System nicht beeinflussen, also beispielsweise eine Anwendung stoppen oder ihre Ausführung verzögern. Um dies zu ermöglichen, haben sich zwei Ansätze herausgebildet: A/B Update (symmetrisches Update) oder Android Update, auch asym-metrisches Update genannt, mit einer „normalen" und einer Update Instanz des Systems.

Update Ansätze

A/B Update – hier wird das Update in die nicht aktive Partition geschrieben und anschlie-ßend der Bootloader so geändert, dass er auf diese Partition zeigt. Diese neu geschriebene Partition wird beim nächsten Bootvorgang gestartet – und damit ist ersichtlich, dass dieser Ansatz einen Neustart benötigt, damit das Update wirksam werden kann. Als Nachteil kann man hier möglicherweise den großen Speicherbedarf sehen, da ja ständig zwei komplette Abbilder vorhanden sein müssen. Der große Vorteil ist, dass dadurch auch immer ein lauffähiges Abbild vorhanden ist.

 

Bild 3: Default memory layout at symmetric update

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Asymmetrisches Update mit einer Produktiv- und einer kleinen Update-Partition – hier ist der Speicherbedarf geringer, jedoch ist die Auszeit deutlich größer, da während des eigentlichen Update Vorgangs das Produktivsystem inaktiv ist.

 

Bild 4: Standardlayout asymmetrisches Up-date

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Delta Update

Unabhängig davon, ob symmetrisch oder asymmetrisch, sollte es möglich sein, die zu übertragene Datenmenge zu begrenzen. Gerade wenn die Anbindung über Bandbreiten begrenzte Kanäle erfolgen muss. Delta-Updates (differenzielle) limitieren die Größe der zu übertragenden Daten. Und auch den auf dem Gerät benötigten Speicherplatz für das Update.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Picture 5a: Delta Update                                                      Picture 3b: Delta Update principle

Bandbreite optimiert

Deduplizierung verringert die Datenmenge noch weiter. Und die Verpackung in gleich große Chunks optimiert die Auslastung der Netze der CDNs (content delivery provider).

Resultat:
Minimaler Datentransfer, minimaler Zeitbedarf, minimale Kosten

 

Roll-Back

In beiden Fällen wird der Erfolg des Updates durch einen Watchdog überprüft. Startet das System nach einem Update nicht, so wird nach einer einstellbaren Anzahl von Versuchen beim A/B Update auf die letzte lauffähige Version gewechselt. Bei einem asymmetrischen Update kann das Update-System neu gestartet werden, ggfs. mit einer entsprechenden Meldung an den Nutzer.

On-device check

Bevor ein Update File komplett geladen wird, sollte überprüfbar sein, ob es zur Hardware passt und ob es eine neue, aktualisierte Version der Software enthält. Der komplette Download eines Update Containers erfolgt erst bei positiv erfolgter Prüfung. Dies spart unnötigen Datentransfer und eliminiert die Gefahr des Downgrading durch Übermittlung eines veralteten Updates.

Zur Authentifizierung werden die ersten beiden Komponenten des Update Files geladen und ausgewertet. Dort finden sich die Informationen über die unterstütze Hardware und um welche Softwareversion(en) es sich beim Inhalt handelt. Desweitern findet man dort eine signierte Datei mit den Hashes aller Update-Images, die der Update Container mit sich führt – siehe hierzu auch Bild-4.

Pre- und Postprocessing

Vor bzw. nach dem eigentlichen Update sollte es möglich sein, bestimmte, vom Nutzer definierbare Operationen auszuführen. So ist es beispielsweise bei einem A/B Update notwendig, dass nach dem eigentlichen Update der Bootloader die Information bekommt, welche Partition als nächste zu booten ist.

Feedback

Nach einem Update sollte eine Rückmeldung möglich sein, damit der Update Server feststellen kann, ob das Update erfolgreich eingespielt wurde und die Informationen über das Gerät auf den aktuellen Stand bringen kann. Auch sollte der aktuelle Gerätestatus und ggfs. weitere Informationen abgefragt werden können.

Security

Zur Erhöhung der Sicherheit vor Manipulationen ist es empfehlenswert, dass der Update Container signiert und zusätzlich der Inhalt verschlüsselt werden kann. Die Signatur ist die Garantie dafür, dass der Inhalt auf dem Weg zum Gerät nicht manipuliert wurde (man-in-the-middle Angriffen). Und gleichzeitig dient es der Authentifizierung, also dem Nachweis, dass das Update von einer dazu autorisierten Stelle stammt. Unsere CMS-Signierung unterstützt mehr als eine Root-of-Trust (RoT) für die Verifizierung. Dies ermöglicht Konfigurationen mit mehr als einer Update-Signierungsinstanz, z.B. kann der OEM Lieferant ein Update liefern und auch ein weiterer Lieferant, der eine Anwendung geliefert hat. Beide Updates werden als gültig signiert erkannt und eingespielt.

Die Verschlüsselung verhindert das Mitlesen und erhöht den Sicherheitslevel, da nur derjenige, der im Besitz des korrekten Schlüssels ist, den Inhalt nutzen kann. Aus Performancegründen sollte für die Verschlüsselung ein symmetrisches Verfahren gewählt werden.

Ein derartiger Ansatz ermöglicht die Gewährung einer Datensicherheit auch dann, falls das Update beispielsweise lokal über einen USB-Stick eingespielt werden soll.

Nur den Transportweg mittels TLS zu verschlüsseln, ist nicht ausreichend. Hierbei könnte das Update nach dem Empfang im Klartext gelesen werden.

Sofern vorhanden, sollten HSM oder TPM Module bzw. geeignete Strukturen der SoCs wie Trusted Zone (inklusive der Nutzung von Trusted Execution Environment) für die sichere Verwahrung von Zertifikaten bzw. Schlüsseln zum Einsatz kommen. Die Verwendung von pkcs#11 vereinfacht die Nutzung aus dem Updateprogramm heraus.

 

 

GUI

Sollte das Gerät, welches ein Update bekommt, ein graphisches Benutzer-Interface (GUI) besitzen, so wäre es begrüßenswert, wenn die Update Prozedur dieses GUI für beispielsweise die Auswahl des Updates, die Einholung der Erlaubnis, das Update durchzuführen, die Darstellung des Prozesses und die Erfolgskontrolle genutzt werden könnte.

Den Ablauf eines Updates auf dem Gerät illustriert die nachstehende Zeichnung:

 

Bootzeit

Ein Updatesystem sollte keinen Einfluss auf die Bootzeit des Gerätes haben.

Secure / Measured Boot

Das Updatesystem muss auch in diesen Fällen funktional einsetzbar sein.

Multi-CPU Update und Gateway Funktionalität

Aktuelle Geräte bestehen oft aus mehr als nur einer Multi- oder Single-Core CPU. Auch besitzen moderne SoCs, sogenannte heterogene Multi-Core SoCs, mehr als eine CPU. Ein Update für diese Art von Geräten kommt mit einem Image nicht mehr aus Das Updatesystem muss die Images aus dem Updatefile extrahieren und an die richtigen Speicherstellen schreiben können.

Ähnlich, aber nicht identisch ist der Fall, wenn ein Gerät aus mehreren (unterschiedlichen) Komponenten besteht und diese auch ein Update erhalten sollen, aber keinen Zugang zum Server haben. Dann muss das Gerät mit Zugang um Update-Server als Gateway dienen. Dieses verteilt dann die entsprechenden Images an die unterlagerten Geräte. Voraussetzung hierfür ist, dass alle Geräte die gleiche Update Software verwenden.

Flottenmanagement

Ein Updatesystem sollte einfach mit einem Managementsystem zum automatischen Ausrollen von Updates integrierbar sein. Die Flexibilität unserer Lösung erlaubt die Anbindung an unterschiedliche Device Managementsysteme.

Werkzeug (Tooling)

Es sollte möglich sein, das Update File unabhängig vom Buildsystem zu erstellen. Und in einem weiteren Schritt dann zu signieren und ggfs. zu verschlüsseln.
Die Update Software für das Endgerät sollte sowohl in Debian wie auch in Yocto integrierbar sein.

Erweiterbarkeit

Zukünftige Anforderungen an ein Updatesystem sollten einfach integrierbar sein. Komplexe Sicherheitsanforderungen, wie sie Uptane erfüllt, sollten umsetzbar sein.

Wiederverkauf

Ein Updatesystem sollte einer Neutralisierung des Geräts bzw. dem Zurücksetzen in den Auslieferungszustand zum Zwecke des Wiederverkaufs nicht im Wege stehen.

 

>> zum Seitenanfang