D



Embedded Update

Embedded devices require a fully automated update. This is commonly referred to as an OTA (over the air) update. The technical implementation of this concept must take into account all the different storage media as well as all the various communication channels for the distribution of the update.

The constantly advancing complexity of system-on-chips expands the functional scope of the devices manufactured with them, and thus also places increasing demands on the update concept. Often, it is no longer just a processor that needs to be supplied with software, but also other components such as FPGAs, heterogeneously structured CPU cores or subordinate devices. Technologies such as containers or hypervisors allow third-party software to be used on an embedded device. This third-party software also requires a secure update, although it is desirable that in this case the update does not necessarily have to be delivered by the manufacturer of the device.

In addition, there are the ever-present high demands of industrially used systems. Because there is no operator sitting in front of the device who can manually trigger a reset in the event of an error. The demands on an update system that can be derived from this situation can be summarised as follows:

  • Authentication of the update server (security endpoint feature)
  • Signed and optionally encrypted updates (data integrity)
  • Verification of each update locally before download
  • No import of outdated, faulty updates (downgrade)
  • Power failure security and robustness against faulty data transfers
  • Rollback option, also for downstream devices
  • Multiple images for multiple units in one update
  • Forwarding of updates to downstream devices (FPGA, CPUs ...)
  • Optimal use of memory
  • Optimal use of existing bandwidth (CDN-friendly systems) thanks to delta updates
  • Update as images, as partition updates, as packages and as files
  • Feedback update and information exchange to the management server

We have implemented these requirements on the basis of an open source tool (swupdate), which has received appropriate extensions from us. Our tool can be easily integrated into Yocto or Debian based build environments. An update then runs as shown below.

The above points describe the requirements of the target device regarding the update. In addition, one also needs a tool to which the device can log on and receive its update, and which can manage the devices.

E



Embedded Update

Embedded Geräte benötigen ein vollständig automatisiert durchführbares Update. Dies wird oft mit dem Synonym OTA (over the air) Update bezeichnet. Die technische Umsetzung dieses Konzeptes muss dabei sowohl die unterschiedlichsten Speichermedien wie auch die verschiedensten Kommunikationswege zur Ausbringung des Updates berücksichtigen.

Die sich ständig weiter entwickelnde Komplexität von System-on-Chips erweitert den Funktionsumfang der damit hergestellten Geräte und stellt damit auch steigende Anforderungen an das Updatekonzept. Oftmals muss nicht mehr nur ein Prozessor mit Software versorgt werden, sondern auch weitere Bausteine wie FPGAs, heterogen aufgebaute CPU-Cores oder unterlagerte Geräte. Technologien wie Container oder Hypervisoren erlauben es, dass Software von Dritten auf einem Embedded Gerät zum Einsatz kommt. Diese Dritt-Software benötigt ebenfalls ein sicheres Update, wobei es wünschenswert ist, dass in diesem Falle das Update nicht zwangsläufig durch den Hersteller des Gerätes ausgeliefert werden muss.

Dazu kommen die schon immer vorhandenen hohen Ansprüche industriell genutzter Systeme. Hier sitzt kein Operator vor dem Gerät, der bei einem Fehler per Hand einen Reset auslösen kann. Die Ansprüche an ein Update System, die daraus abzuleiten sind, lassen sich wie folgt zusammenfassen:

  • Authentifizierung des Update Servers (security endpoint feature)
  • Signierte und optional verschlüsselte Updates (Datenintegrität)
  • Verifizierung jedes Updates lokal vor Download
  • Kein Einspielen veralteter, fehlerhafter Updates (Downgrade)
  • Power Failure Sicherheit und Robustheit gegenüber fehlerhaften Datenübertragungen
  • Rollback Möglichkeit, auch für nachgeordnete Geräte
  • Mehrere Images für mehrere Geräte in einem Update
  • Weiterleitung von Updates an nachgeordnete Geräte (FPGA, CPUs ...)
  • Optimale Nutzung von Speicher
  • Optimale Nutzung vorhandener Bandbreite (CDN freundliche Systeme) dank Delta-Updates
  • Update als Images, als Partitionsupdate, als Pakete und als Datei
  • Rückmeldung Update und Informationsaustausch zum Management Server

Diese Anforderungen haben wir auf Basis eines Open Source Tools (swupdate), das von uns entsprechende Erweiterungen erhalten hat, umgesetzt. Unser Tool lässt sich einfach in Yocto oder Debian basierte Buildumgebungen integrieren. Ein Update läuft dann wie unten dargestellt ab.

Oben genannte Punkte beschreiben die Anforderungen des Zielgerätes an das Update. Zusätzlich benötigt man auch ein Tool, bei dem sich das Gerät anmeldet und sein Update entgegennimmt, und das die Geräte verwalten kann.